snapshots of thankfulness

I’m so very grateful for all that I have: the best partner/beloved I could ever have hoped to find, truly supportive and wonderful family, creative and generous friends, a job that I love, robust health, a snug if quirky house, enough food on the table, opportunities to learn and grow and stretch myself. Between the madness of holiday preparations and emotional and physical fatigue, I found I wasn’t doing justice to the sort of thankfulness I wanted to impart. Whatever I wrote had so much to convey. It had to be perfect; failure wasn’t an option*.

When I woke this morning, the world outside my window was cold and still, all white and silver save for the black lace of bare branches. I let the quiet enter my soul. Realized that all I had to do was be mindful, be present, be grateful for the little things the day was to bring. My soul was slightly less soothed after two hours of digging out, but the seed had been planted. Throughout the day, I took photos of things that I found beautiful, things that made me happy. I’d like to share a few with you**.

willowsnow

Our willow tree, after the snowstorm.

Beautiful pomegranates.

Beautiful pomegranates.

Cocktails and appetizers by the warmth of the fire, the first in my in-laws' new pool house.

Cocktails and appetizers by the warmth of the fire, the first in my in-laws’ new pool house.

Aftermath of the feast, beginning of dessert.

Aftermath of the feast, beginning of dessert.

Sunset tipping the trees with gold. Also: this view in any season.

Treetops brushed with gold.

snowandgoldensunset

Winter sunset.

Curling up with an excellent book. Keeping my place with a Robin Hood Band favor.

Curling up with an excellent book. Keeping my place with a Robin Hood Band favor.

This face. This girl.

This girl. This face.

*I have a tendency to be a bit hard on myself. You might have noticed.
**Apologies for the lack of people-pics; lighting was not great and most of them came out super-grainy.
(note: this was meant to be posted yesterday past as Day 27 of my blog challenge, but lack of internet prevented me from doing so)

Leave a Reply

