E is for Esme: Blogging From A to Z Challenge

E

Once upon a time, there was a one-eyed tortoiseshell kitten in the adoption cages at a local PetCo. Upon seeing our heroine (that’s totally me, you guys), the kitten flung herself at the plexi-glass, back arched, rubbing her face as if she could actually feel the girl’s fingers skritching her cheeks. This one-eyed kitty was later adopted out, but she sat in the hallway and cried. This was not the home she longed for. Months later, our heroine (still me) saw this one-eyed kitty back in her cage. Our heroine wept, sad for this now gangly and adolescent feline, knowing that the older the kitty grew, the less easy it would be to place her. Fortunately, the heroine had a bold and handsome swain with a heart as kind as it was generous, who adopted the gangly kitten for our heroine’s birthday. They all lived happily, and adorably, ever after.

And that, in a very tiny nutshell, is how Esme* came to be our girl. I wanted to tell her story in pictures, but almost every shot I have has been taken while she’s sleeping. An energetic one, our Princess Adorable.

EsmeBagZoom EsmeKickyGirl

She’s super stealthy.
Stealthy girl.

She’s sassy.
SassyEsme
She’s dainty, indelicate, mischievous, vocal.

Esme4Shot

She’s impeccable. Every morning, she waits while I shower so that I can give her a proper brushing once I’m done. If I take too long, she’ll pull the curtain back with her paw and poke her head around.

EsmeAwaiting Brushing

She’s expressive. From our last vet visit:

"I am displeased. Also, I know where you sleep."

“I am displeased. Also, I know where you sleep.”

She makes her own happiness.

EsmeYarnBed

She knows she is loved. Also: the value of a snuggly nest by the wood stove.

EsmeNested

She is my sunshine and rainbows girl. She’s one of the truly special ones, my Esme.

This face. This girl.

This face. This girl.

*named after the thoroughly excellent and amazing Esmerelda (Granny) Weatherwax

4 thoughts on “E is for Esme: Blogging From A to Z Challenge

  1. Heather M. Gardner

    She’s beautiful. Thank you for sharing.
    I’ve never had a cat with those color combinations.
    I’m currently owned by four evil cats. 3 girls and a boy who thinks he’s a dog.
    Heather M. Gardner
    Co-host: Blogging from A to Z April Challenge
    Blog: The Waiting is the Hardest Part [http://hmgardner.blogspot.com/]

    Reply
  2. saucydryad Post author

    Not ignorant at all! She actually has two eyes, though one isn’t viable, so I’ve taken the liberty of calling her my one-eyed kitty. The affected eye is covered with a fibrous layer*, likely a result of untreated infection when she was a young shelter kitten. (*apologies for not knowing the actual term; I should correct that posthaste).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

