N is for… nope: Blogging from A to Z

N
Today was a whirlwind of activity. I woke earlier than intended, and used that extra time to haul bins of spring and summer clothing down from the attic. I emptied my closet and my dresser drawers of the fall and winter stuff, culled items that were threadbare, too large, or beyond the realm of my ever wearing them again ever. Emptied the attic bins and winnowed items for similar reasons. I swept and I mopped. I reorganized my shoes and said goodbye to boots that, although adorable and/or badass, I’d never wear without spending serious money to get the calves taken in*.

Save for a couple of quick breaks to eat, check social media, and pee**, I kept busy right up until the moment I had to leave for my nephew’s ukulele lesson. Now, I might have been distracted with feelings of accomplishment, or I might’ve been led astray by thoughts of scales and fingerpicking drills…

Forward to the end of the uke lesson. We high-fived, chatted a bit, and then I made my way to the grocery store, because efficiency was the watchword of the day. I got a sweet parking spot, grabbed my shopping list, and reached for my wallet. Which wasn’t there.

Bugger. Seems I’d never grabbed my purse before leaving the house. No worries, though. Home was a mere six minute drive away. I’d simply pop back, feed the kitties, put the re-packed, re-labeled bins back up in the attic, and return to the store.

Once my chores were done, I headed back into the late afternoon sunshine with renewed determination. I pulled into an even better spot, reached for my wallet…

Bugger! Buggering bugger buggerness! You have got to be kidding me. I’d forgotten my purse. Again.

I stared out the window. Took a breath. Said, “… nope. Nope, nope, nope.” I had enough greens and veggies to make a salad. I had soup in the freezer.*** Anything else could wait. There are days where its worth plugging away, where you defy the odds stacked against you and come out victorious.

This? This was not that day. Nope. Not at all.

*chicken-legged-girl syndrome: the struggle is real

**my water intake during this current nutritional program has been stellar, y’all. Just keeping it real!

***homemade lentil soup at that. so good. sometimes when you lose, you win. 

2 thoughts on “N is for… nope: Blogging from A to Z

  1. Heather M. Gardner

    I’m down from a purse to just a wallet and sometimes, just the important cards in my pocket. I got tired of lugging and forgetting it.
    Heather M. Gardner
    Co-host: Blogging from A to Z April Challenge
    Blog: The Waiting is the Hardest Part [http://hmgardner.blogspot.com/]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

