T is for Tree Kitty: Blogging from A to Z

We’re on a friendly basis with the wildlife here in SnowWhiteLand. The deer, while wary, don’t scatter too far when we come outside. In fact, they sleep in the woods behind our house. Opossums, raccoons, and skunks visit regularly. I’ve two crows that let me know when they’d like to be fed. The most interactive by far are the squirrels, or as I call them, tree kitties. Much like regular kitties, they’re quick and agile and smarter than you’d think. Also, they sort-of purr.

TKperching

Last spring, I determined to get one to eat from my hand. Honestly, I had visions of one of them riding Jenny Wren’s shoulder, bedecked in a tiny Robin Hood hat. She’d scamper across the Chess Board to steal a dagger from the Sheriff’s guard. The audience would hail her as a hero. It took some time and patience, but I was able to manage the first bit. Still waiting on the costume/shoulder perch.

TKpeanut
At this point, I’ve five regular visitors, three of which are totally comfortable taking a treat from me. Their manners are lovely. They sit by the back door, paws clasped in apparent supplication, waiting for someone to notice.

TKcloseatdoorSometimes, it take a little bit more to catch our attention.

TK4shovelThey’ve discovered my office window. They’ll tap on the glass to get my attention.

TKwindowsill
Tree kitties are so much a part of our everyday routine, they made it to our most recent Christmas tree.

TKornament
As with the rest of the wildlife, I don’t begrudge them taking their share of my so-called ‘gardening*.’ If they’re putting in the effort to glean it for themselves, well… fair play to you, tree kitties!

TK3strawberry
We share a happy, balanced life with our outdoor menagerie. They get treats from us, we get amusement/adorableness from them. Still waiting on Jenny Wren’s sidekick, but no worries. Tree kitties get things done in their own time. We’re cool.

*aside from herbs, I am abysmal at growing things.

4 thoughts on “T is for Tree Kitty: Blogging from A to Z

  1. Discovering Home

    We have a little ‘Tree Kitty’ visitor who will tap and scratch and stand by the sliding glass door, oblivious to the tail-switching cats, impatiently ready to pounce on the other side. I wonder if he/she was once fed by hand, or was possibly someone’s pet?

    Reply
  2. Mpls_Transplant

    Your pictures are adorable. Guess squirrels are no different from people, some are sweet natured and others are little brats. Our two brats keep hiding the peanuts in our window sill for some reason. Makes me laugh.

    Reply
  3. Heather M. Gardner

    The squirrel was under the bird feeder, a few feet from the front porch. I opened the door and he didn’t move. I threw slices of stale bread inches from him and he didn’t move. Instead he walked over and picked up the bread and started eating.
    Crazy squirrel.
    Heather M. Gardner
    Co-host: Blogging from A to Z April Challenge
    Blog: The Waiting is the Hardest Part [http://hmgardner.blogspot.com/]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

