W is for Walk the Walk: Blogging from A to Z

W

As some of you may know, I’m a fitness instructor at CKO Kickboxing. I’m also a woman in my 40s who loves wine and cupcakes and binge watching my favorite television showsrepeatedly. Additionally, I’m a performer/director/stage combatant/choreographer at the New York Renaissance Faire, and a singing pirate who performs at other faires and venues in the off season.

I’m busy, y’all.

It’s all too easy to let my active work life lull me into believing that’s enough: it will keep me fit, or at least fit-ish. Once upon a time, that might’ve been true, but that was back when I was young and had an off-the-charts metabolism. I thrived on a few hours of sleep a night. I ate whatever I wanted in ridiculous quantity and remained thin and healthy. Good times. Of course, it is different now, and while I try to keep on top of my own health and fitness, sometimes it bears revisiting. A fresh approach.

To that end, I decided to participate in my gym’s 10 Week Fitness and Nutrition program. The service has long been offered, but has recently been revamped and revised. It’s a much more interactive and community driven plan with built-in support from both staff and fellow participants. I don’t have a huge amount of weight to lose, though let’s face it: my belly and my back fat drive me to tears of frustration. We all have our problem spots. Still, I know what my healthiest weight/size/body fat percentage should be.  If I can get closer to that with this program, fantastic.

More than that, I want to be able to speak knowledgeably about this with our members. I want to share with them the value of the program. I want to be able to empathize with them when the’ve had an uneven day, or have made less than optimal choices, let them know that we are all works in progress. Even trainers. I am walking the walk, ten weeks’ worth, right alongside the rest of them. We’re sharing the delight of finding that, six weeks in, your jeans are suddenly looser, that you’re doing more burpees in 60 seconds, that you’re okay choosing hummus over ranch dressing. We’re sharing recipes, cheering on teammates, showing up for extra classes.

It’s hard. Seriously rough. The nutritional aspect is beastly for me, mostly because I find myself in great swathes of time where I have no recourse to eat, as prescribed, every 2-4 hours. If I’m doing a gig at a bar, I’m going to drink beer. I will get hangry and make poor choices. I don’t instinctively pair food well. But I’m re-training myself. Weekly emails from our fearless leader keep me on track*. I’m reminded that so long as my good choices outweigh the bad, so long as I’m adopting these changes and choices for the long term, it’s all good. Everyone is on their own journey. No one comes to this complete. It’s why we have such programs in the first place. It’s why we choose to better ourselves, physically and emotionally and spiritually.

I don’t want to live in a world where I never allow myself wine or a cupcake or watching the entire run of Giles and the Scooby Gang in a fortnight’s time. It simply needs to be a world where I put the work in so that everything is in balance. I’m getting there, step by step. Walking the walk, same as everyone else.

It also helps to pretend Leslie Knope is pulling for me. I really think she would.
leslieknope-list-ox

*fun fact: I tend to be super critical of myself. If I don’t manage something perfectly at once, it’s a clear indication I am a failure and a regrettable person. ::jazz hands::

4 thoughts on “W is for Walk the Walk: Blogging from A to Z

  1. shirleyjdietz

    I found that managing weight took on a new twist at a certain age too. And unfortunately trying to think and write makes me so nervous (in a good way) that I keep getting up to chew on something while I’m doing it #kitchenistooclose. Kudos for walking the walk…

    Reply
  2. Heather M. Gardner

    I think you’re awesome for doing what you do.
    My brain wants to do all kinds of things that the rest of me doesn’t.

    Heather M. Gardner
    Co-host: Blogging from A to Z April Challenge
    Blog: The Waiting is the Hardest Part [http://hmgardner.blogspot.com/]

    Reply
  3. Pingback: a tale of badass-ishness | Saucy Dryad

Leave a Reply

